for brass

Stephen Roberts

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for brass

Ask about this work
Composer Stephen Roberts

Year of Composition


, , , ,



Categories (all composers) , ,
Catalogue ID ce-sr1sfb2


1. Fanfare 2. Blues 3. Galop

Written for the Birmingham Symphonic Brass and premiered at the Barber Institute of Fine Arts in March 2016, conducted by the composer. The work is in three movements, Fanfare, Blues and Galop. The fanfare echoes some of the astringency of those written by Jolivet, whilst the Blues is a twelve-tone rather than twelve-bar concept, recalling the sonorities of Gil Evans. The finale, Galop, is a hectic and ebullient rondo and unashamedly virtuosic.