Music of Falling Sounds

for violin and electronics

Vykintas Baltakas

🔍 Preview Score Music of Falling Sounds
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for violin and electronics

Ask about this work
Composer Vykintas Baltakas
Year of Composition 2015
Duration ca.11'

Categories (all composers) , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-vb1mofs1


In 2012 Luc Tuymans produced the magnificent mural Angel in a corridor of the highest foyer of the Concertgebouw Brugge. Immediately a new space came into existence: the Angel Room. The narrow and tall corridor was designed by Paul Robbrecht who kindly referred to it as: “the cathedral of the Concertgebouw”. The way the light enters the space and the acoustics add to the special atmosphere surrounding Tuymans’ work. Inspired by Morton Feldman’s Rothko Chapel the Concertgebouw commissioned a series of compositions specially written for the Angel Room.

Not only the mural, but the whole architectural context of the space inspired this piece. The tall ceiling and the a-typical floor plan create a unique acoustic. The space feels sterile and transparent and so does the composition: frugal and icy sounds in a high register.

All electronic sounds have their origins in the sound of the violin. They create a harmonically unstable shadow of the solo violin which in the course of the work tends to extend the natural capabilities of the instrument.

Performance of this work requires additional media. Due to file size, these will be delivered via file transfer service upon purchase of the work. If you do not receive these additional files, please contact Composers Edition.