for brass band and live electronics

Tim Souster

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for brass band and live electronics

Ask about this work
Composer Tim Souster
Year of Composition 1990
Duration ca.11'
Forces b-band, elec
Categories (all composers) , , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-ts1e2


Echoes is, as far as I am aware, the first piece of music in which brass band has been combined with electronic equipment. I found the spatial layout of the band very suggestive of musical ideas: cornets to the left, basses and horns in the centre, euphoniums and trombones to the right. This scheme is reinforced and extended in my piece by both the scoring and the electronics. The instrumental chords bounce backwards and forwards between the players, but when they are echoed electronically, the spatial distinction between them becomes even more marked. The loudspeakers, positioned on all four corners of the room, convey the opposing sounds throughout the whole listening space.

The title Echoes does not just refer to the effects created by the electronic devices used in the piece. It also relates to a dim and distant musical model which, very occasionally, emerges from the mists of time. The reference is of course to ‘The Red Flag’ or ‘O Tannenbaum’, perhaps the best-known melody of the British Labour Movement. The intention was not to write any tub-thumping political piece of music, not to propose any pat answers to the problems of today, but rather, simply to remind ourselves of something we should never forget.

©1990 Tim Souster

Echoes was first performed at the opening of the National Museum of Labour History, Manchester on 6 July 1990 by Besses o’ th’ Barn Band conducted by Peter Goodwin (Bassano). It was commissioned by the Equale Trust with support from North West Arts and is dedicated to the Besses o’ th’ Barn Band and its musical advisor Peter Goodwin (Bassano).

Dedicated to Peter Goodwin and the Besses o’ th’ Barn Band.

Due to file size, download orders for the score of this work will be delivered via WeTransfer. If you do not receive your items via email, please contact Composers Edition.

The full score and parts set contains 2 copies of the full score for use by conductor and electronics performers.