for piano

Terence Allbright

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for piano

Ask about this work
Composer Terence Allbright
Year of Composition 2010
Duration ca.5'
Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-ta1i2


I composed this work with a competition in mind (it didn’t win): entries had to be based on an aspect of the music of J S Bach. I made a scale of the 9 different tonic notes of Bach’s Inventions and Sinfonias and transposed this to begin on each of its own notes, giving 9 scales – one for each of my 9 Inventions. There are 4 two-part movements, 4 three-part movements in the form of a theme with 3 variations, and finally a four-part chorale.