Memories, Dreams, Reflections

Symphony No.2 for mezzo-soprano and orchestra

Susannah Self

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


Symphony No.2 for mezzo-soprano and orchestra

Ask about this work
Composer Susannah Self
Year of Composition 2004
Duration ca.31'

Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-ss1mdr1


“Memories, Dreams, Reflections” takes its title from the autobiography of Carl Jung, the Swiss psychologist, and in particular the chapter entitled “Visions”. During “Visions” Jung has a heart attack resulting in an out of body experience, during which he nearly dies. He looks back at the World from outer space and experiences complete bliss and release. However, he realises he is called to return to his body to complete his life’s work or “opus”: that of individuation, meaning a full communion with his Self. The sung text for the piece is taken from a variety of writings by Jung interfaced with extracts from Lao Tzu’s “Tao Te Ching”, a book of Chinese philosophy with which Jung felt a deep connection. The scenario of the Symphony follows that of the story-line in “Visions”.