contemporary classical
music publishing

Stephen Roberts

'The Next Stop is....Angel'
Stephen Roberts 'The Next Stop is....Angel'
Stephen Roberts 'The Next Stop is....Angel'

for chamber ensemble

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
'The Next Stop is....Angel' - score (download)
'The Next Stop is....Angel' - score

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


'The next stop is....Angel' was written in 2000, whilst suffering from a debilitating virus of the brain that caused visual and aural distortions. During a journey on a tube train to Angel in London, the jolting of the ride and cacophony of other passengers caused me considerable stress. On arrival at the station, the announcement that 'the next stop is Angel' seemed a portentous sign of death. Thus the piece came together as I staggered from the platform. It is cast in the form of a danse macabre and was first performed in a workshop by the BCMG, conducted by Anthony Pay.

It was selected by Richard Rodney Bennett to be performed at the SPNM's 60th anniversary concert at the 2002 Spitalfields Festival with the Britten Sinfonia, conducted by Richard Baker. It received critical acclaim from assembled press, not least the London Evening Standard who described it as, 'a most striking piece...witty, serious and inventive'. BBC Radio 3 chose it as one of the 'highlights' of the festival and broadcast the performance in a special feature programme.

Please contact us directly to enquire about score and parts pricing.

Additional Information

Composer Stephen Roberts
Year of Composition 2000
Instrumentation Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb, Bassoon, Horn in F, Trumpet in Bb, Trombone, Harp, 2 Percussion, Piano, 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello, Double Bass
Duration ca. 7'30"
Student Difficulty No

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.