Five Village Brawls

divertimento for wind octet

Stephen Roberts

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


divertimento for wind octet

Ask about this work
Composer Stephen Roberts
Year of Composition 2001
Duration ca.14'


, , ,

Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-sr1fvb1


1. Faisant des caracoles 2. Une belle dame sans merci 3. Jongleurs 4. C’était un bon anglican 5. Danses (et Contredanses)

This divertimento was composed for the Zephyr winds, who premiered it as part of the Malvern Chamber Music Society’s 100th anniversary concert series of 2001.

The five movements look back to 15th century bransles and each is given a character that reflects an imaginary French village scene or brawl. The term brawl is used in a double sense, meaning both a round dance and a quarrel.