contemporary classical
music publishing

Stephen Roberts

Stephen Roberts Breathless
Stephen Roberts Breathless

for 10-piece brass

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Breathless - score (download)
Breathless - score
Breathless - score and parts (download)
Breathless - score and parts

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


Written for the 25th anniversary of the Fine Arts Brass Ensemble, Breathless was inspired by Maynard Ferguson and his almost superhuman energy. The piece is relentless and draws on sounds from the jazz big band genre, its acerbic homophony interspersed with intricate fast passagework. Part of the energy is a reflection of the performer's anxiety about getting to the concert on time, as expressed in the quote from Alice in Wonderland, 'Oh dear! I shall be too late!' Sometimes, during the 1980s, the schedule of the Fine Arts Brass bordered on the insane, but this 'business' is an integral part of most musicians' life and indeed something that is worn like a badge of success.

The premier was given at the Barber Institute of Fine Arts conducted by the composer.

Additional Information

Composer Stephen Roberts
Year of Composition 2006
Instrumentation Horn in F, 4 Trumpets in Bb, 4 Trombones, Tuba
Duration ca. 4'
Student Difficulty N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.