contemporary classical
music publishing

Silvina Milstein

of gold and shadows (vol 2)
Silvina Milstein of gold and shadows (vol 2)

volume 2

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
of gold and shadows - volume 2
of gold and shadows - volume 2 (download)

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


The eight compositions that form the ‘of gold and shadows’ cycle share a concern with the exploration of states of heightened awareness and the creation of evocative modes of musical continuity arising from the use of ‘shards’ of familiar materials as starting points for free association.

The two largest works in the cycle, de oro y sombra and shan shui (mountain – water), were inspired by the mysterious symbolic spaces depicted in certain ancient Chinese landscape paintings, while the Piano Phantasy and the piano duo in a bowl of grey-blue leaves inhabit a world of sensuous eroticism. A concern with ‘blended sonorities’ through the use of pairs or groups of the same instrument within a mixed ensemble, or of homogeneous sonorities such as a piano duo, provides another binding feature – as also in the trios a thousand golden bells in the breeze and while your sound lingered on in lions and rocks, where a harp is enveloped by pairs of double basses and trumpets respectively.

Like renderings of a mountain from many sides, under different lights, and at different scales, this cycle of compositions invites listeners on a multifaceted contemplative journey.

Additional Information

ISMN 9790570682478
Composer Silvina Milstein
Year of Composition 2018
Instrumentation flexible
Duration 0
Student Difficulty -

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.