Four ‘Magna Carta’ Fanfares

for one to six trumpets

Robert Peate

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for one to six trumpets

Ask about this work
Composer Robert Peate
Year of Composition 2014
Duration 7'45"
Categories (all composers) , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-rp1fmcf1


The following fanfares are arranged in order of length, difficulty and ensemble size. Commissioned by Wraysbury Parish Council for the 800th anniversary of the signing of the Magna Carta, these fanfares are designed to incorporate a range of abilities and instrumentations as might be appropriate for the various events in 2015. All based on a simple 3-note motif (G-C-A), itself derived from the title Magna Carta Libertatum (Magna = Great = G, Carta = C, and Libertatum = La = A), it is hoped that the different fanfares will allow a range of younger/non-professional players, as well as professional musicians to take part in the celebrations, whilst also creating a musical connection between the events.

Fanfare I (one part)
Fanfare II (two parts)
Fanfare III (four parts)
Fanfare IV (for six trumpets/cornets)