Five Winter Tableaux

for oboe, violin, viola, cello and piano

Robert Peate

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for oboe, violin, viola, cello and piano

Ask about this work
Composer Robert Peate
Year of Composition 2010
Duration 5'-6'
ISMN 9790570680931


, , , ,

Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-rp1fwt1


A set of tableaux (or freeze-frames) offered an appropriate model for this music, which depicts a series of typically winter moods/scenes. Although the five ‘tableaux’ run directly into one another, they are devoid of much transition. The different movements are however strongly related harmonically, where the opening material on the piano dictates the harmonic grammar and spacing for the piece. Written for Oboist Jenny Melville, the Oboe takes a particularly soloistic role.

The poem The Morning Before Christmas from Ted Hughes’ River (1983) also helped to characterise the music.

Five Winter Tableaux was first performed by Jenny Melville (Oboe) and students from Birmingham Conservatoire in the Recital Hall at B.C. in 2010.