2012 Antiphon

for four horns

Robert Peate

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for four horns

Ask about this work
Composer Robert Peate
Year of Composition 2012
Duration 4'30"
ISMN 9790570680924
Categories (all composers) , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-rp1a1


Exploring a dialogue between the principle and the three remaining members of the section, the music was characterised by the often contrasting associations surrounding 2012, a dichotomy that could be seen between the aspirational hype accompanying events such as the Olympics and Queen’s Jubilee and the foreboding doomsday predictions following the end of the Mayan calendar. The music explores the spatial element of call and response beginning with an introduction and reflection, as well as approaching a textural depth by creating layers of material in the context of four Horns. Motivic material is also generated through permutations of the numbers 2012.

2012 Antiphon was first performed by Carys Evans, Elise Campbell, Oliver Hickie and Edmund Morgan conducted by Elgar Howarth in Duke’s Hall, March 2012.