Symphony No.2

for orchestra

Rob Keeley

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for orchestra

Ask about this work
Composer Rob Keeley

Year of Composition



ca. 21'

Student Difficulty

Categories (all composers)
Catalogue ID ce-rk1s2


My 2nd Symphony, written very quickly after my 1st in 1996, was given its first performance in May 2008 by the Kensington Symphony Orchestra conducted by Russell Keable.

Written for a ‘classical’, Beethoven-sized orchestra (although with an important and quite soloistic part for the harp), it follows, broadly a classical form:

1. Sonata Allegro, followed by

2. Scherzo with two (related) trios,

3. Slow movement (this is entirely new apart from the dance-like coda) and

4. a cheerful, vigorous Rondo.

I have since revised the work, making numerous little tweaks and cuts, clarifying a harmony there, refining a melody there. If the benign shade of 1940’s Stravinsky can be detected in this piece, I’d be very happy.