contemporary classical
music publishing

Rob Keeley

Piano Trio No.1
Rob Keeley Piano Trio No.1
Rob Keeley Piano Trio No.1

for violin, cello and piano

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Piano Trio No.1 - score
Piano Trio No.1 - score (download)
Piano Trio No.1 - score and parts
Piano Trio No.1 - score and parts (download)

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


This work is a conflation of two originally separate pieces from the mid-90s: 'dead wood' has been subsequently excised and contrasts integrated, to create what I hope is a convincing single work (past composers wouldn't have thought twice about doing this!). So the opening Allegro moderato, composed against the background of the trios of Haydn and Schubert, is followed by a rhythmically complex movement originally entitled 'Mind Games'. The finale starts with a slow, intensely elegiac, heterophonic melody, which eventually melts into a more relaxed, diatonic Allegretto, the first occasion I've used large-scale tonal contrasts in this 'classical' way. The whole movement is dedicated to the memory of a much-admired composer, Nicholas Maw.

Additional Information

ISMN 9790570681037
Composer Rob Keeley
Year of Composition 2011
Instrumentation Piano, Violin, Violoncello
Duration 18'
Student Difficulty N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.