for recorders and strings

Rob Keeley

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for recorders and strings

Ask about this work
Composer Rob Keeley
Year of Composition 2014
Duration ca.9'
ISMN 9790570681013

Categories (all composers) , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-rk1i1


Written in 2014 at the request of the indefatigable recorder player John Turner – it is a miniature concerto for (various) recorders and seven solo strings. As the title suggests, I think of it as various interleaved sections, but the basic shape is 1. a gentle Andantino, 2. a sprightly Allegro in 6/8, 3. a short slow movement featuring the Tenor, 4. a return of the 6/8 material and 5. a fast final movement which leads back into the opening material once more, ending with a breathless coda. The first performance was given by John Turner and the Manchester Chamber Ensemble conducted by the composer, at the RNCM on April 21 2015.