On Quietude and Dancing

for solo piano

Rob Fokkens

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for solo piano

Ask about this work
Composer Rob Fokkens
Year of Composition 2016
Duration ca.19'


Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-rf1oqad1


On Quietude and Dancing consists of two strongly contrasted core movements – Aria and Troping – which contain all of the materials in the piece. These include ideas referencing electronic dance music, traditional South African bow music, a tiny snippet of Bach (from the Aria of the Goldberg Variations), and various other musical styles and traditions.

The three outer movements respond to these central movements in different ways: Précis simply presents the materials of Troping in a radically truncated form, whilst the two Commentaries revisit different selections of the original materials from both movements in various forms.