Nine Solitudes

for solo piano

Rob Fokkens

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for solo piano

Ask about this work
Composer Rob Fokkens



Year of Composition




Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-rf1ns1


A set of concert etudes for piano, 9 Solitudes consists of six short variations on a sequence of two-note chords – presented in the first movement – interspersed with three more substantial freely-composed pieces. These larger etudes – 2, 6 and 8 – are each constructed out of materials and musical characters taken from two of the variations, creating internal relationships across the set which give it a sense of interconnectedness and cohesion despite the wide range of very different musical materials.

9 Solitudes was commissioned by the SAMRO Endowment for the National Arts 2006 for South African pianist Jill Richards to perform on her UK tour in 2007. It has since been performed on a number of occasions by Jill Richards in South Africa and by Mary Dullea in the UK.