flutterings, splinterings, becomings

for string quartet

Rob Fokkens

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for string quartet

Ask about this work
Composer Rob Fokkens
Year of Composition 2019
Duration ca.15'

Student Difficulty

Categories (all composers) , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-rf1fsb1


Commissioned by the Vale of Glamorgan Festival in 2019 for the Armida Quartet.

A string quartet in 6 short movements, flutterings, splinterings, becomings explores the idea of individuation. After an initial movement which slowly introduces each of the eight musical ideas used in the piece and explores a few combinations of these, the other five movements explore smaller groups of these ideas – each of the second and third movements exploring four of the initial materials, and the last three movements two or three each – allowing the ideas to grow, combine and develop into strongly characterised entities.