contemporary classical
music publishing

Rob Fokkens

Rob Fokkens Africa

for soprano and piano

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Africa - soprano and piano (download)
Africa - soprano and piano

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


David Diop was born in France of mixed Cameroonian and Senegalese parentage in 1927. He moved between France and West Africa throughout his life - he studied in France, and as an adult he worked as a teacher in Senegal and Guinea until his early death in 1960 in a plane crash. His single published volume of poetry, Coups de pilon ("Hammerblows", 1956) demonstrates his commitment to both the 'negritude' movement of twentieth-century Black French language writers, and Africa in the era of rapid post-colonial liberation which followed the second world war.

My affinity with his extraordinary poem Africa derives from a number of things: his acknowledgement of alienation from the romantic notion of historical "Africa" and indeed, to some degree from modern Africa due to the significant amount of time he spent in France; his courage in addressing unflinchingly the issues Africa faces and acknowledging that, for the continent, much is still to be done; and, perhaps most importantly, the visionary quality which sees these issues as the birth pangs of a powerful future.

Africa was commissioned by the SAMRO Endowment for the National Arts for Claire Booth (soprano) and Andrew Matthews-Owen (piano), who gave the first performances on the bmic's Cutting Edge Tour in 2009.

Additional Information

Composer Rob Fokkens
Year of Composition 2007
Instrumentation Piano, Soprano
Duration 7
Student Difficulty N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.