contemporary classical
music publishing

Richard Bullen

Visioni Simultanee
Richard Bullen Visioni Simultanee

for orchestra

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Visioni Simultanee - full score (A3) (download)
Visioni Simultanee - full score (A3)
Visioni Simultanee - perusal score (A4) (download)
Visioni Simultanee - perusal score (A4)
Visioni Simultanee - full score and parts (download)
Visioni Simultanee - full score and parts

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


This piece is a personal response to Umberto Boccioni’s painting Visioni Simultanee (1912), which depicts the urban street as an ‘overwhelming vortex of modernity’. The Italian Futurist artist wanted to capture the dynamic sensation of ‘the inside and the outside, of space and motion, in all directions experienced on approaching a window.’ He examined the tense relationship between an object (in this instance a woman’s head) and its surroundings (the swarming, chaotic city) by absorbing foreground and background material into each other.

I explore how a single melody interacts with background elements, and can be subsumed into the texture, before reappearing elsewhere in an altered state. Musical lines meet, intersect, and collide with each other, with brass interjections cutting through planes of activity like raw and violent brush strokes.

The contrast between minimal harmonic movement and bustling, whirling textures, creates an aural illusion of ‘running on the spot’ – both dynamic stasis and frozen action. With the orchestra as my ‘palette’ and time as my ‘canvas’, I hope to communicate musical energy rippling out and mixing with different colours, therefore in some way realising Boccioni’s ambition: ‘The time has passed for our sensations in painting to be whispered. We wish them in the future to sing and re-echo upon our canvasses in deafening and triumphant flourishes.’

Visioni Simultanee was commissioned and first performed by the Finchley Symphony Orchestra, conducted by David Lardi. It was shortlisted for a 2015 BASCA British Composer Award.

Additional Information

Composer Richard Bullen
Year of Composition 2014
Instrumentation orchestra
Duration ca. 9'
Student Difficulty No

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.