contemporary classical
music publishing

Richard Baker

Breaking the Ground
Richard Baker Breaking the Ground
Richard Baker Breaking the Ground

for piano

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Breaking the Ground - score
Breaking the Ground (download)

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


Breaking the Ground (2003) takes its title from a seventeenth century English variation technique, as described by Christopher Simpson in his 1659 treatise The Division Violist. There are two interlocking variation processes in the piece - one based on an iambic melodic line, the other on a harmonic sequence - which occasionally interfere with one another, and the material of each is not heard in its simplest form until the end. Breaking the Ground was commissioned by the Warwick and Leamington Festival with funds generously provided by West Midlands Arts. It is dedicated to Howard Skempton.

Additional Information

ISMN 9790570681471
Composer Richard Baker
Year of Composition 2003
Instrumentation Piano
Duration 10
Student Difficulty N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.