Cobbled Section After Cobbled Section

for orchestra

Laurence Crane

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)

for orchestra

Composer Laurence Crane

Year of Composition




Categories (all composers)
Catalogue ID ce-lc1csacs1


‘Cobbled Section After Cobbled Section’ was composed between January and March 2016. It is for large orchestra, lasts around 16 minutes and falls into 2 movements of roughly equal duration, the first titled ‘Cobbled Section’, the second ‘After Cobbled Section’. It continues my interest in placing ordinary, familiar and disparate musical objects alongside each other. In common with another recent work ‘Chamber Symphony no.2 ‘The Australian’ it also investigates the possibility of placing these objects on top of each other.

Commissioned by BBC Radio 3 for the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and first performed by them, conducted by Ilan Volkov at the Tectonics Festival on 7th May 2016, City Halls, Glasgow.