A Bao A Qu’s Stairs

variations for fortepiano

Prach Boondiskulchok

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


variations for fortepiano

Ask about this work
Composer Prach Boondiskulchok

Year of Composition



Student Difficulty

Categories (all composers) , ,
Catalogue ID ce-pb1abaq1


This piece is one of the three fortepiano studies based on Jorge Luis Borges’ creatures from his faux-medieval bestiary The Book of Imaginary Beings. A Bao A Qu’s Stairs, originally intended to be performed as a companion piece to Haydn’s Andante and Variations in F minor, follows roughly the shape of Haydn’s Variations. It idiosyncratic sounds of the Viennese fortepiano in the different registers of the instrument, as part of my ongoing research on new compositions for the fortepiano.