Nine Memos

for string quartet

Paul Archbold

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for string quartet

Ask about this work
Composer Paul Archbold
Year of Composition 2012
Duration 15' 30"


, ,


Categories (all composers) , , , , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-pa1nm1


In his (incomplete) series of Harvard Lectures Six Memos for the Next Millennium, Italo Calvino discusses several literary qualities: lightness, quickness, exactitude, visibility, multiplicity. Calvino surveys a wide historical range of poetry and prose, revealing these qualities in the topics of enquiry, but also in the quality of the prose. My work unfolds continuously in nine sections, each of which explores a different metaphor for the string quartet: light, weight, arabesque, multiplicity, transparency, intensity, fire, stillness, velocity.

Nine Memos is dedicated to the Arditti Quartet.