El Progreso de Pedro

for piano solo

Paul Alan Barker

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for piano solo

Ask about this work
Composer Paul Alan Barker
Year of Composition 2007
Duration ca.10'

Instrumentation Piano
Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-pab1pp1


The music reflects the halting and teasing structure of the novella. Like the novel, certain elements seem so normal and everyday, whilst inexplicable events are encountered but without explanation in the text. The simple innocence of the language barely masks a sophisticated and surreal world, just beneath the surface.

This ten minute work portrays a series of events or encounters which, it is hoped, leave more unsaid than explained. The five almost continuous sections seem to have no traditional development, but expand in duration, as if breathing in ever more deeply. They reflect, for me, the sense of wonder without explanation I associate with Juan Rulfo’s extraordinary story.

Commissioned by Ana Cervantes inspired by the novel Pedro Paramor by Juan Rulfo.

Premiered at Centro National de las Artes, Mexico City.

Released on Quindecim recordings as Solo Rumores QP188; 2007