for solo double bass

Patrick Nunn

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for solo double bass

Ask about this work
Composer Patrick Nunn
Year of Composition 2006 rev. 2020
Duration ca.4'
Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-pn1b1


The original autograph of Paganini’s twenty-four Capricci for solo violin located at the Archivio Storico di Casa Ricordi are divided into three groups marked Opera 1, Opera 2 and Opera 3. The first two parts include six capricci each, with the third having twelve. It is the second part from which the fundamental pitch material in Bravura is derived. The key notes of each capriccio, when placed together, form a collection of intervals from which small melodic cells are created and stitched together making longer sections of material. This updated version of Bravura represents an extensive reworking of the original 2006 score.

The original version of Bravura was commissioned by the Royal Academy of Music for the opening of the ‘Paganini in London’ festival and was first performed by Jaroslaw Mroz on the 27th February 2006 at the Dukes Hall, Royal Academy of Music as part of the opening of the festival.