of gold and shadows

volume 1 & 2

Silvina Milstein

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


volume 1 & 2

Ask about this work
Composer Silvina Milstein
Year of Composition 2018
Duration ca.129'
ISMN 9790570682461 (vol. 1), 9790570682478 (vol. 2)



Categories (all composers)
Catalogue ID ce-sm1ogas1


The eight compositions that form the ‘of gold and shadows’ cycle share a concern with the exploration of states of heightened awareness and the creation of evocative modes of musical continuity arising from the use of ‘shards’ of familiar materials as starting points for free association.

The two largest works in the cycle, de oro y sombra and shan shui (mountain – water), were inspired by the mysterious symbolic spaces depicted in certain ancient Chinese landscape paintings, while the Piano Phantasy and the piano duo in a bowl of grey-blue leaves inhabit a world of sensuous eroticism. A concern with ‘blended sonorities’ through the use of pairs or groups of the same instrument within a mixed ensemble, or of homogeneous sonorities such as a piano duo, provides another binding feature – as also in the trios a thousand golden bells in the breeze and while your sound lingered on in lions and rocks, where a harp is enveloped by pairs of double basses and trumpets respectively.

Like renderings of a mountain from many sides, under different lights, and at different scales, this cycle of compositions invites listeners on a multifaceted contemplative journey.