Radcliffe’s Repose

Floreat Coll. Reg. mvt. 1 for piano

Martin Bussey

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


Floreat Coll. Reg. mvt. 1 for piano

Ask about this work
Composer Martin Bussey
Year of Composition 2021
Duration 2' 30"

Instrumentation Piano
Student Difficulty int-adv
Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-mb2rr1


This is the first movement of a set of two pieces titled Floreat Coll. Reg. These were commissioned by pianist Matthew Schellhorn as part of a recital at the Worcester Three Choirs Festival in July 2021. The title reflects two strands behind the works’ genesis. Matthew’s recital was mainly of the piano music of Herbert Howells, amongst whose output were many keyboard pieces celebrating musical influences and friends, using the Renaissance convention of attributing dances or other movements to individuals. One of Howells’ best-loved other works is his setting of the Evensong Canticles for King’s College, Cambridge, known as ‘Coll. Reg.’ Martin Bussey’s time as a Choral Scholar at King’s meant it was a short step to writing similar short works and attributing each piece to a significant figure from the College who influenced him musically.

Radcliffe’s Repose is the first piece in the set and reflects noted musician, composer, writer and teacher Philip Radcliffe, a fellow of King’s for decades. Philip’s quiet character gives the piece its mood; his setting of Hilaire Belloc’s Tarantella provides a short musical idea which is varied in the piece; and his teaching is reflected in a quote from Mozart’s The Magic Flute which Radcliffe would sing as a supreme example of musical characterisation.