Bodnant Redwoods

Shocklach Diary Mvt.3 for solo piano

Martin Bussey

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)


Shocklach Diary Mvt.3 for solo piano

Ask about this work
Composer Martin Bussey

Year of Composition



ca. 4' 15"


Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-mb2br1


Third of a set of six short pieces for piano which stem from moving in 2015 to a converted Methodist Chapel on the borders of Cheshire and Wales. Border lands have long been a strong interest. Links between place and music are hard to define and seldom absolute, but they form a common strand in much music that has influenced me. History reflected in music is another significant interest, present particularly in works such as Mary’s Hand, my monodrama about Mary 1, and my work exploring the life and poetry of Ivor Gurney, Severn Meadows.

‘Bodnant Redwoods’ began life in a summer walk through the towering redwoods in the gardens at Bodnant Castle. Immensely tall by British norms they are reflected in the space and expanse of keyboard used in the piece.