for soprano, violin, piano, percussion and strings

Mario Pagotto

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for soprano, violin, piano, percussion and strings

Ask about this work
Composer Mario Pagotto
Year of Composition 2018
Duration ca.18'
Categories (all composers) , ,
Catalogue ID ce-mp1d1


World premiere: March 8th 2019, Teatro Comunale di Monfalcone, Trieste.

Soprano – Nataša Trcek, Violino – Tamsin Waley-Cohen, Piano – Gloria Campaner, Accademia d’archi Arrigoni, Domenico Mason (conductor).

In this composition Mario Pagotto is also the author of the text (somehow inspired by the Metamorphoses of Publio Ovidio Nasone), which is a starting point for reflection on one of the terrible evils that afflicts contemporary society: unfortunately the news of violence perpetrated by men against women, which occurs daily in the media. In many cultures, even in many religions, the woman has always been seen as a cause of sin, evil and this curse seems to perpetuate even today, even though our societies have evolved more and more towards just achievements of values ​​of civilization and law universal. In the composition, starting from mythological cues, it reaches flashes of tragic contemporaneity, concluding with the hope that the darkness of reason, the darkness that blinds consciences and behaviors, vanishes leaving space in the light of reason and respect.

The musical action is interpreted by three soloists, almost real characters, surrounded by the string orchestra, which acts as a choir, as in a Greek tragedy, commenting empathically and amplifying the soloists’ musical projections.

Please contact us directly to enquire about score and parts pricing.