I See Blue

for orchestra

Marc Yeats

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for orchestra

Ask about this work
Composer Marc Yeats
Year of Composition 1995
Duration ca.18'



Picc., 2 Fl, 2 Ob, CA, 2 Bb.Cl, BCl, 2 Bsn, Cbsn, 4 Hn, 3 Tpt, 2 Tbn, BTbn, Tba, Hp, Pf, B.D., Strings


Categories (all composers)
Catalogue ID ce-my1isb1


My first orchestral work and one of my first professional pieces composed shortly after my attendance at the Hoy Composer’s Summer School on Orkney run by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies and Sally Beaminsh and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in 1994.

The work is in two parts. Its turbulent materials range from lyrical to cataclysmic.

The piece is dedicated to Sally Beamish and Robert Irvine. It was first performed by the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Martyn Brabbins, Studio 7, BBC North, Manchester, November 1995.