Mirage: a Spanish Summer

for string quintet, piano and percussion

Liz Lane

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for string quintet, piano and percussion

Ask about this work
Composer Liz Lane
Year of Composition 2014
Duration ca.8'

Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-ll1m1


Mirage is a reflection on a Spanish summer at various times of day. The music is an image of events which, whilst not perhaps significant in themselves, together shape a lifestyle which necessarily revolves around the supremely hot weather.

A shimmering heat haze is a background to early morning walking, cycling and jogging on the seafront, mist rising on the water and the opening of beachside churingitas. Later on, a juxtaposition of old and new Spain is characterised late night flamenco, even English barbershop and most significantly, a lone accordionist playing outside in the evening whose melody drifts in and out and is never heard in its entirety.