contemporary classical
music publishing

John Palmer

Trans-solo 1
John Palmer Trans-solo 1

for piano

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Trans-solo 1 - piano
Trans-solo 1 - piano (download)

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


The four original Trans-solos derive from the quartet Transitions, for violin, clarinet, cello and piano, written in 2000 following a commission by pianist Margie Wu and the "eppur si muove" Foundation in Zürich.

Initially written as four separate cadenzas of Transitions, I have extracted and re-visited the four solos as single musical moments written for the virtuosity of a distinct performer. As the word 'Trans' may suggest, I have considered virtuosity as a search for ever-changing perceptions of the ineffable.

Additional Information

Composer John Palmer
Year of Composition 2010
Instrumentation Piano
Duration 3
Student Difficulty N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.