for violoncello

Jeffrey Holmes

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for violoncello

Ask about this work
Composer Jeffrey Holmes
Year of Composition 2013
Duration ca.11'
Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-jh1b1


“BARITUS” (Old-Norse for “battle cry”) was composed in the Spring of 2013, for cellist Jacob Braun. This work is in one continuous movement, but consists of nine images (divided into three dreams and six visions) that collectively create one liner drama:

– Draumr: Innan [Dream: From Within]I. Allharðr Vágr [Violent Waves]II. Svartr Sky [Black Clouds]– Draumr: Fara [Dream: Travel, Suffer]III. Vatn Drynr [Water Thunders]IV. Flóð Móðr [Flood Wrath]V. Kala Veðr [Freezing Wind]VI. Isá Brotna [Ice Breaking]– Draumr: Vaða [Dream: Passing Through]

The material for this work is derived from my own personal musical language, which is made up of non-octave harmonies, microtonality, symmetrical and distorted symmetrical rhythmic taleas, and a wide variety of performance techniques. Overall, this work is designed to be one long varied and expressive journey, through a dramatic landscape of sound.