contemporary classical
music publishing

Jane Stanley

Jane Stanley Pentimenti
Jane Stanley Pentimenti

for two pianos

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Pentimenti - score
Pentimenti - score (download)

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


Pentimenti was premiered by Lauryna Sableviciute and Nicholas Ashton at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland on 16 January 2012. It was selected to represent Australia at ISCM World Music Days in 2014, performed by Emilia Sitarz and Bartłomiej Wąsik.

The title Pentimenti is drawn from the visual arts. Pentimenti refers to the alteration of a painting's composition mid-way through the process of completing the work. In the case of a figurative painting, the artist may change the height of a person or the direction in which a hand points. I aimed to express this concept musically by creating an impression of multiple layers of texture and by suggesting the idea of 'traces' or shadows or pre-existing material. The low, very soft agitated texture exposed near the start is for me analogous with the process of priming a canvas in preparation for adding successive layers of foreground subject matter.

Additional Information

ISMN 9790720125039
Composer Jane Stanley
Year of Composition 2011
Instrumentation 2 Pianos
Duration ca. 7'
Student Difficulty No

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.