contemporary classical
music publishing

James Erber

Sonata on 'Laudis Sacrificium Summe'
James Erber Sonata on 'Laudis Sacrificium Summe'

for harp

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Sonata on 'Laudis Sacrificium Summe' - score
Sonata on 'Laudis Sacrificium Summe' - score (download)

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


The Sonata on “Laudis Sacrificium Summe” is based an anonymous Vespers antiphon for two voices from the 13th century Lewes Breviary. The 13 bars which, in modern notation, make up the antiphon are split into five sections of two, four, three, three and one bar respectively. The two short movements which make up my piece both use two partial selections of these five sections. Every section is subjected to one of three variative types, each associated with a different, increasingly slow tempo. The third type, associated with the slowest of the three tempos as well as a descent into the instrument’s lower register, is the most rarely used, occurring only in the last of the first movement’s seven sections and in the sixth and eighth sections of the second movement.

The piece is dedicated to Milana Zarić and Richard Barrett and their son Miśa.

Additional Information

Composer James Erber
Year of Composition 2017
Instrumentation Harp
Duration 0
Student Difficulty -

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.