Four Pictures from Japan for solo cello

Jack Van Zandt

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


Four Pictures from Japan for solo cello

Ask about this work
Composer Jack Van Zandt
Year of Composition 2018
Duration ca.12'

Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-jvz1u1


1. carp leap in a waterfall
2. a sleeping tiger dreams in the light of the moon
3. butterflies ride the summer breeze
4. a bird soars over distant mountains

Duration: 12 minutes (1. 3:00; 2. 5:30; 3. 2:15; 4. 4:00)

For many years I have been interested in the great Japanese woodblock prints and paintings from the 17th-19th centuries in the very popular style known as Ukiyo-e. The works by masters such as Hokusai and Hiroshige are very poetic and I have chosen four of these that suggested music to me.