contemporary classical
music publishing

Ian Stephens

Springhead Echoes
Ian Stephens Springhead Echoes
Ian Stephens Springhead Echoes

for string quartet

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Springhead Echoes - score (download)
Springhead Echoes - score
Springhead Echoes - score and parts (download)
Springhead Echoes - score and parts

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


Springhead Echoes was commissioned in memory of Rosalind Richards née Gardiner (1938-2016) by her daughters. My connection with her is through Pigotts Music Camp, an inspirational place in the Chiltern Hills. I was among a group of musicians who in 1999 were invited to join her at her home in Springhead, Fontmell Magna, Dorset for chamber music. We played Schubert's Octet, with Rosalind leading - she was a keen and able violinist - and me playing double bass. The wonderfully situated Springhead was the house in which she was born and with which she was linked for her entire life.

I had asked her daughters if there were any particular favourite pieces of Rosalind's to which I could allude, and they came back with a substantial list, from which I chose one particular piece: Brahms' Violin Sonata No.1 in G major, Opus 78. Each movement of the quartet incorporates an idea derived - by a variety of means - from the Brahms Sonata.

I wrote Springhead Echoes in 2017. In three contrasting movements, it lasts about 16 minutes.

Additional Information

Composer Ian Stephens
Year of Composition 2017
Instrumentation 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello
Duration ca. 16'
Student Difficulty Intermediate - Advanced

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.