contemporary classical
music publishing

Gustavo Díaz-Jerez

Gustavo Díaz-Jerez Trio

for violin, violoncello and piano

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Trio - score (download)
Trio - score
Trio - score and parts (download)
Trio - score and parts

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


The trio for violin, cello and piano was composed in New York in the fall of 1994. It consists of three movements that are unified through recurring motifs. The first movement is structured in the framework of the modified sonata form, preceded by a slow and mysterious introduction. The second movement (Adagio) is lyrical and cantabile. The work concludes with a fast and rhapsodic movement of virtuosic character. The motivic material is mostly dodecaphonic, although tonal "shadows" are enhanced by the use of major and minor triads. Mathematical models derived from the number theory are also used as rhythm and melodic material generators.

First performed by Latino Music Festival 2011, (October 11, 2011), Instituto Cervantes of Chicago, USA, David Ballesteros (violin), David Barrera (violoncello) and Gustavo Díaz-Jerez (piano).

Additional Information

Composer Gustavo Díaz-Jerez
Year of Composition 1994
Instrumentation Piano, Violin, Violoncello
Duration ca. 15'
Student Difficulty -

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.