contemporary classical
music publishing

Gustavo Díaz-Jerez

Sonata á cinque
Gustavo Díaz-Jerez Sonata á cinque

for recorder, viola d'amore, violoncello, vibraphone and harpsichord

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Sonata a cinque - score (download)
Sonata a cinque - score
Sonata a cinque - score and parts (download)
Sonata a cinque - score and parts

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


This piece was commissioned by the XV Early Music Festival of La Laguna (Tenerife, Spain). It is loosely modeled after the Baroque Sonata form. It starts with a slow French Overture based on a self-contained, self-similar, fractal melody. A lyrical Andante follows, interspersed with irregular bars at prime-numbered measures. The piece continues with an Allegro constructed from a mathematical curve, followed by a mysterious Adagio, whose structure is based on the aural translation of a fractal image. A very fast, rhythmical, somehow chaotic Presto follows, constructed on the “look-and-say” number sequence. The piece end with a modified reprise of the Overture.

Additional Information

Composer Gustavo Díaz-Jerez
Year of Composition 2017
Instrumentation Recorder, Vibraphone, Harpsichord, Viola, Violoncello
Duration ca. 13'
Student Difficulty -

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.