Symphony Cocteau

for saxophone quartet and piano

Graham Lynch

🔍 Preview Score Symphony Cocteau
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for saxophone quartet and piano

Ask about this work
Composer Graham Lynch
Year of Composition 2017
Duration ca.18'
Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-gl1sc1


Symphony Cocteau is a four movement work inspired by the essence of Cocteau’s creative output across various media (poetry, plays, film, novels, art, etc.). It evokes characteristics and moods that were typical of his way of working, and all displaying a lightness of touch; with twists and turns and elements of surprise and illusion.

The piece follows a traditional symphonic structure, with a fast opening movement followed by an off-beat Ländler. Then there is a longer slow movement which moves straight into a bright finale. A short, magical, chord progression that is heard near the opening of the work reappears transformed in each movement, and then returns to round the piece off.

The piece was written for the East End Quartet and premiered by them, with pianist Szu-Yi Li, in New York in 2018.