Serenata Notturna (guitar orchestra version)

for guitar orchestra

Graham Lynch

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for guitar orchestra

Ask about this work
Composer Graham Lynch
Year of Composition 2017
Duration ca.11'
Forces 10gui
Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-gl1sn1


Serenata Notturna was commissioned by the Avonia Institute in Finland for their guitar orchestra, and first performed in Turku in 2018.

The three movements of the Serenata Notturna are similar to Mozart’s piece of the same name – a March, a Waltz (Mozart’s was a Minuet), and a Rondo. Each movement having its own distinctive character and mood.

There was an interesting request in the commission that had a pedagogical slant. I was asked that each movement would explore specific intervals so that the children would not only have the benefit of learning a new piece but it would also contribute to ear training. For this reason each movement has a subtitle that pairs related intervals; for example, the first movement is 2nds and 7ths. In each movement the main theme is built from the intervals in a melodic relationship, but then subsidiary material uses the intervals harmonically.

The ‘score and parts’ set for this work compromises of one copy of the score and a single copy of each part. If you require more parts, please add the ‘extra parts supplement’ to your order. This contains a further copy of each part.

Versions of this work for both string orchestra and for five guitars are also available on Composers Edition.