contemporary classical
music publishing

Graham Lynch

French Concerto
Graham Lynch French Concerto
Graham Lynch French Concerto

for flute, violin, cello and harpsichord/piano

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
French Concerto - score (download)
French Concerto - score
French Concerto - score and parts (download)
French Concerto - score and parts

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


Marie van Rhijn (of Les Arts Florissants), who had performed my solo harpsichord music, asked me to write a piece for Trio Dauphine; an ensemble of harpsichord, baroque violin, and single action harp. Trio Dauphine gave the premiere in France in 2015. I subsequently made up a fresh version for Rebecca Pechefsky and the Omni Ensemble, and they gave the US premiere in New York in 2016. This version is the one that is published here – flute, violin, cello, harpsichord.

Another arrangement – for saxophone, violin, and piano – will be premiered in Cambridge in autumn 2018.

Although all the music is original, and no pastiche intended, the piece deliberately plays around with the style of the French clavicenists, and refracts it in different directions; beginning with a mosaic of ideas that gradually opens out into longer sections. The spirit is that of Watteau, Fragonard, of ‘jouissance’.

Additional Information

Composer Graham Lynch
Year of Composition 2012
Instrumentation Flute, Piano, Harpsichord, Violin, Violoncello
Duration ca. 14'
Student Difficulty -

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.