contemporary classical
music publishing

Graham Lynch

Cocteau Dances (string quartet version)
Graham Lynch Cocteau Dances (string quartet version)
Graham Lynch Cocteau Dances (string quartet version)

for string quartet

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Cocteau Dances (string quartet version) - score
Cocteau Dances (string quartet version) - score (download)

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


Cocteau Dances combines and distils many aspects of Cocteau’s personality, his interests, and sense of the archetypal. The key ideas that inform the music are those of ambiguity and transformation; these are already present in the title – is it Cocteau dancing, or the dances of Cocteau?

The piece consists of six movements which are separated by five short cello solos that begin immediately each movement ends, and are ended abruptly by the start of the following movement, which can interrupt their completion. These solos – called Melos – have no relationship to the main body of the work, their material coming from re-composed fragments of the First Delphic Hymn from ancient Greece, and played mostly pianissimo at the threshold of hearing, and as if from another world. The 'invented' notation of these cello passages is conceived in a manner that allows for a degree of rhythmic freedom.

This piece is an arrangement of four of the movements from the string orchestra work Cocteau Dances.

Additional Information

Composer Graham Lynch
Year of Composition 2014
Instrumentation 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello
Duration ca. 14'
Student Difficulty -

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.