Piano Trio No.1

for violin, violoncello and piano

Emma-Ruth Richards

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for violin, violoncello and piano

Ask about this work
Composer Emma-Ruth Richards
Year of Composition 2012
Duration ca.18'
Categories (all composers) , ,
Catalogue ID ce-err1pt1


The inspiration behind this piano trio is the Russian liturgical theme at the opening of Arensky’s string quartet op.35. It falls in three movements (Larghetto, Animato, Largo) and is perhaps best described as variations on Arensky’s theme; the main focus for development however, is on the second triplet ‘swell’ that rises out of the repeated note pattern to give the theme its life.