contemporary classical
music publishing

Craig Vear

Farewell, sun! (Adieu, soleil!)
Craig Vear Farewell, sun! (Adieu, soleil!)

Cantata for female voice, electric guitar and laptop

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Farewell, sun! (Adieu, soleil!) - software score

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


This composition explores the imaginary sound world evoked by a quote for Jules Verne's book Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea(s) (1869): “Adieu, soleil! s'écria-t-il. Disparais, astre radieux! Couche-toi sous cette mer libre, et laisse une nuit de six mois étendre ses ombres sur mon nouveau domaine!”.. This poetic phrase, a surprising and moving lament by Captain Nemo, directed at the vanishing Antarctic sun as it retires for the Austral winter, is capable of being interpreted in several ways. It is, by its content, a deep and dark composition due to its literal and metaphoric associations. But, for me, the homonym of sun (for son) offers a more personal interpretation of the phrase.

Farewell, sun! (Adieu, soleil!) (2015) is the second movement of a collection of works entitled the Sea Quartet.

NOTE: These scores are based in software. Although they share many similar properties to that of paper based/traditional scoring methods, they also benefit from the usability and functionality of dynamic software environments. The visual information will be familiar to the musician and welcomed by a curious spirit of adventure. Above all, these scores are responsive, evolving as the performance progresses - giving the feeling of being alive - and should be considered as co-operative creative partners.

Please click on the score above for a full description of the concept of the work, as well as technical and performance instructions (including full instrumentation).

As sold by Composers Edition this product includes all the files necessary to perform the work including the software files and media samples. Due to the size of these files these will be delivered via online transfer. To receive your files please email [email protected] stating the operating system on which you wish to run the files: MacOS/Windows.

Additional Information

Composer Craig Vear
Year of Composition 2015
Instrumentation networked lap, Electric Guitar, Voice
Duration 12'
Student Difficulty N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.