six images from Bram Stoker's classic horror for female voice and piano

Camden Reeves

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


six images from Bram Stoker’s classic horror for female voice and piano

Ask about this work
Composer Camden Reeves
Year of Composition 2019
Duration ca.15'
Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-cr2d1


1897. They present the hallucinogenic visions of the character Mina Harker, in the form of a collage of images (taking inspiration from the montage structure of the novel itself).

As Doctor Van Helsing’s band of vampire slayers lay chase, Dracula begins his escape back to Transylvania. Mina has been attacked three times by Dracula and, having consumed his blood, has contracted the curse of Vampirism. Van Helsing initially attempts to purify her – he places the wafer of sacrament on Mina’s forehead. It burns upon contact, leaving a horrible scar. Van Helsing then discovers a useful side effect of the curse: Mina is forming a telepathic bond with the Count. As she drifts in and out of semi-trances, Mina’s visions aid Van Helsing in determining the Count’s precise movements. What the Count sees, Mina sees. For Mina, existence is a constant torment. Her
visions of Dracula’s journey in the present are mixed with those of her earlier, horrifying, encounters with the vampire. Only with Dracula’s destruction will she be free of the curse.

The score is dedicated to my wife, the extraordinary soprano, Catherine Mikić, in thanks for her help in shaping every detail of the voice part.