Clarinet Concerto

Op. 80 arranged for clarinet and concert band

C.V. Stanford arr. Stephen Roberts

🔍 Preview Score Clarinet Concerto
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


Op. 80 arranged for clarinet and concert band

Ask about this work
Composer Stephen Roberts
Year of Composition 2018
Duration ca.20'
Forces solo cl, picc, 2fl, 2ob, 2bn, 3cl, bcl, 2asax, tsax, bsax, 3tpt, 4hn, 3tbn, 2euph, 2tba, cb, timp
Categories (all composers) , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-sr1scc1


Stanford’s clarinet concerto was first performed in 1904 by Charles Draper at London’s Queen’s Hall under the direction of the composer. It was originally dedicated to Richard Mühlfeld who premiered Brahms’ works, but he refused to play it. Stanford subsequently crossed out the dedication.

It is written as a single piece, but falls into three clear movements. The middle one is the longest with rhapsodic mood changes. The finale exhibits Stanford’s Irish pedigree with its lyrical cheerfulness.

Please contact us directly to enquire about score and parts pricing.