Symphony No.1

for orchestra

Brian Inglis

🔍 Preview Score
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for orchestra

Ask about this work
Composer Brian Inglis
Year of Composition 1994
Duration ca.15'
ISMN 9790570683994

Instrumentation Orchestra
Forces 2Fl, Fl/Picc, 2Ob, Ob/CA, 2Cl, Cl/BCl, 2Bsn, Bsn/Cbsn, 4Hn, 3Tpt, 2Tbn, BTbn, Tba, 4Perc, Pf/Cel, Hp, Strings (min
Student Difficulty int-adv
Categories (all composers)
Catalogue ID ce-bi1s1


Please contact us directly to enquire about score and parts pricing.

This work was commissioned by City University Symphony Orchestra for its 1994-95 season. Japanese gagaku court music and medieval plainsong and organum are its principal sources of inspiration. My aim was to create a symphonic structure of modest scale with the same kind of dramatic, rhetorical quality of some of the polystylistic works of Arvo Pärt and Alfred Schnittke.

World premiere 10/3/1995 St John’s Smith Square, London: City University Symphony Orchestra/Matthew Rowe.
Commissioned by Denis Smalley for City University Symphony Orchestra.
Performing materials produced with support from the Holst Foundation.