Recorder Concerto

for recorder and ensemble

Brian Inglis

🔍 Preview Score Recorder Concerto
Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for recorder and ensemble

Ask about this work
Composer Brian Inglis
Year of Composition 2015
Duration ca.13'
ISMN 9790570683925
Forces solo recorder, fl/picc, ob, cl/bcl, bn, 2hn, pf, hpschd, 4perc, strings (, amp
Student Difficulty adv
Categories (all composers) , , , , , ,
Catalogue ID ce-bi1rc1


This piece aims to explore the expressive, virtuosic and sonic potential of the recorder as a concertante instrument. Both descant and treble are used, and at one point (bb 141-144) a special effect is created by playing two descant recorders simultaneously – an evocation of the double flute or aulos of folk and antique tradition. Formally the concerto combines a traditional Classical/Romantic three-movement concerto structure into one movement, which also relates to the ritornello form of the Baroque concerto: an introductory instrumental exposition is followed by a solo exposition of similar material, then various episodes of dialogue and alternation between recorder and orchestra. Several indeterminate techniques are used, giving individual instrumentalists rhythmic freedom – for instance at figure F and in the first part of the central ‘slow movement’ (bb 145-195). The linked ‘finale’ contains two cadenzas for the soloist – one each for treble and descant instruments – separated by a recapitulation of previous material (also a feature of the descant cadenza).

… een bijzonder stuk…. Voor zeer vergevorderde of professionele spelers een uitdaging om hier samen met een pianist eens de tanden in te zetten! [… a remarkable piece…. For very advanced or professional players this is a challenge and together with a pianist something to get their teeth into!’] (Bernadette Pollen, blokfluitist, September 2017)